How to Pray The Korean Way


How to Pray The Korean Way!
Peggy Kannaday

Many years ago, I prayed a simple prayer. “Lord, please teach me how to pray”.
Later, after my daughter got married; I was sent by The Lord to Seoul, Korea to be a tent maker for 13 years.
It was an awesome experience. I learned more than words can express about how to pray.
The Koreans not only taught me how to pray, but they also taught me the way to pray.
I learned that prayer was not something that you did periodically when you were faced with a severe problem, but prayer was a way of life to the Korean people.
The Koreans prayed before they drove their cars, they prayed upon entering their churches, they prayed everyday for their children, and they prayed in the City Hall area when their country needed help.
The Koreans’ prayers changed their nation during hard times over and over again. I asked my associate if she was ever concerned when one million North Koreans were lined up on our northern border? She said, “No, because we will go to the City Hall area, and thousands of our Christians from many churches will pray together. She told me that the good Lord always answered their prayers, and so they didn’t worry about their circumstances.
I learned that The Korean Prayer Warriors also had an indomitable faith in The Lord’s supreme and almighty power to answer their prayers. Their faith was so strong that the results were already evident to them in their minds.
If only all people could learn the power that the church united in prayer has in every area of their lives. What a changed world this could and would be if we simply would pray “Thy Kingdom come; Thy will be done in earth as it is in heaven”. When we pray as Jesus Himself taught us, then The Holy Spirit moves mightily to bring The Kingdom of God into our territory.
The Lord wants His Kingdom to be manifested in our lives, and He wants what is already bound in heaven to be bound on earth, and He wants want is loosed in heaven to be loosed on earth.

I lived in Korea during one of their elections. The conservative candidate was winning, and then we looked at the TV Screen, and the conservatives’ name and photo were switched, and it looked like the leftist candidate was winning.

The leftist was pronounced the winner, and the conservatives asked for a recount which they were not allowed to have. The leftist President of South Korea was exposed for what he was, and he later committed suicide when he came under investigation.

During this time; many of The Christian pastors along with their members visited the City Hall area in Seoul, Korea to pray. Now, to the glory of God, South Korea has a wonderful, Christian President that understands business and every aspect of government because he was head of the Hyundai Corp. He is also are true Elder in his church.

Praise God that the Christians prayed for their country, as we are commanded to do in The Word of God. There is unlimited power in the prayers of agreement among the Christians who come together in the Name of Jesus Christ.
That is why He came to give us the Keys to The Kingdom of God. He wants us to take our territories for His Kingdom honor and glory.
I learned that this can be done when the Christians come together to pray for every need. It is a beautiful experience to go to The Osanri Prayer Mountain, and see the people praying in the many daily services, and in the prayer grottoes.
Prayer in Korea is not the last resort, but it is the first priority.
I do not worry about the future of the Christian Koreans because I know that they will turn to the Lord, and they will overcome every obstacle through the power of prayer, faith and total trust in The Lord’s mighty power.
Dr. Yonggi Cho always says that he simply “prays, listens and obeys”. It is very simple, but the Korean Way of Prayer is amazing, and the answers are life-changing, nation transforming, and out-of-this world.

Peggy Kannaday

Regent Park/Glen Ridge

707 Torrey Pines Lane

Fort Mill, SC 29715

803 547-2164

cgiusahq@yahoo.com
pkannaday@aol.com

20 thoughts on “How to Pray The Korean Way

  1. As of now I am 5 months work here in Korea and 4 months attending Sunday service and other fellowship services. They Pray everyday at 10:00 pm. Except holiday and Saturday I was really amazed on how they are so much devoted on going to church in spite of there busy schedule. Wow so impress even on Sunday the whole day we are in the Church.

  2. Dear Peggy:
    Here we are, preparing a book about prayer, When I was in Seoul I attended a meeting with one million christians to pray all together, I need to get the video of that meeting .leaded by Pastor Cho, in 1994 if I am not wrong, ,I need to have videos of great number of christians praying, it could be also those prayers in Yoido Full Gospel church, to show here and explain how do koreans pray in big groups to use as a model that can happen in any country, I started a prayer ministry with 200 hundred evangelicals from all denominations to pray in groups 24 hours non-stop constantly for months ,and we found many big answers to dramatic needs, now we need to reactivate this ministry and also we need to teach that this can be start in any country in any city, starting with 48 christians praying 5 minutes each one ,then this will growth to 15 minutes each to complete 24 hours covering all the time during one month, many pastors helped to get more groups praying , and some pastors copy this 24 hours prayer nonstop way to intercede . I just need some videos to show thorusands praying all together for more than 3 minutes , I discoved that this is contagious, if you listen and watch, In our church we are having church meetings as in sunday , only we expand to 120 hours meeting non stop, we only change the team that praise and worshipand the preacher in 1 or 3 minutes every 2 hours, and our church is growing in intimacy with our Lord and Saviour, if somebody wants to start something like this you will experience great strength from Jesus to go for more deep in your prayer life,worship life and ,knowledge of the bilbe, sometimes ,because of the flowing of God presence the preacher can not preach, just pray and worship without limit and fullness of joy in Gods presence. my name is Fernando Linares Tamayo.

    • Dear Friend,
      Lord bless you in your attempts to get people to pray. It is crucial for our survival.
      I felt like a voice crying in the wilderness for too long.
      My office which is Dr. Cho’s or the Yoido Full Gospel Church’s English outreach can help
      you, as they can contact our video dept. and they can get copies of most of our previous videos.
      They all speak English. Please ask for Miss Lee, Min Sook as she is the admin. asst., and she
      speaks excellent English.
      If you send an email, please indicate it is to her, and tell her exactly what you need.
      You can contact her by writing to cgikorea@chol.com or calling 822 783-9920.
      May The Lord bless you and yours, and may He keep you in His loving arms both today and always.
      In His love and for His glory,
      Peggy Kannaday
      Managing Editor
      Church Growth International
      pkannaday@aol.com
      chgrint.homestead.com

  3. Hello I am so delighted I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was researching on
    Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  4. Our prayer team is planning to go to Dr.Cho’s prayer Mountain. I really appreciate info for which city to fly to and where to stay I appreciate if you could help us. God bless!

  5. Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my
    iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!

Leave a Reply

