The Time My Mother Died


The Time My Mother Died
Margaret (Peggy) Kannaday

The title of this article sounds very sad; however; it is a testimony of God’s triumph over death. “O death, where [is] thy sting? O grave, where [is] thy victory?” 1 Cor. 15:55).
My whole life, I had been dreading the demise of my beloved mother. I had always wondered how I would get through it victoriously.
I had been working overseas in an Interdenominational Ministry for many years, and so I began to pray for God’s timing for me to go home to the states.
I prayed for seven years, and then the right time was revealed to me, and I was able to go home in 2003.
Soon after arriving in the states; I got a call that my mother was in grave condition. I immediately went to the facility where she was located and found her emaciated and under strong medication. I was unable to actually talk to her due to her condition.
My mother was 89 years old, and so she had lived a long life, but I had never seen her so helpless looking.
I remembered how when she was much younger; she had rheumatoid arthritis, and she would not take the medication because of the severe side effects. She could not walk for one year, and my daughter and I decided to take her to an evening meeting where an evangelist was having a healing service.
We had to carry my mother into the church, and help her to the front. When she was waiting to be prayed for; she saw a blind person there, and she thought how much worse that person’s condition was than her own.
She prayed for the blind person, as she had a compassion for that person. My mother was completely healed that night, and I remembered the Scripture, “Confess [your] faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much” (James 5:26).
My mother became a new person, and she did one hour’s worth of exercises daily. It was like God gave her a new beginning at that time in her life.
It was very heart wrenching to see my mother in the condition that I found her in 2003, as she had been so youthful and physically active previously.
My prayer partner, Ali, and I prayed for mother, we quoted Scriptures, and we rubbed my mother’s painfully thin arms. My mother had a hopeless look of pain on her face.
Then at 5 a.m. the next morning; I was told that my mother had died. I went to the facility, and to my amazement; I found my mother smiling, and her face glowing.
My mother had passed into another realm with a smile on her face. What a beautiful sight.
I realized that I was so fortunate to have been right there to be with my mother and to experience her glowing face and to see her peaceful smile. If I had not come to the states at the precise timing of the Lord; I would have missed that awesome experience.
I praise God for His wonderful goodness and mercy, which is from everlasting to everlasting.
I had always thought that the funeral of one of parents would be devastating to me, and I couldn’t bring myself to even think about my parents’ funerals. What a difference knowing the Lord Jesus Christ makes, as He was present with me in an extraordinary way. I was completely enveloped in The Father’s love and the Presence of The Lord Jesus Christ. I was overflowing with the love, joy and peace of The Lord.
I never would have believed that I could experience such joy at the funeral of either one of my parents, but I was filled with the joy of The Lord!
We cannot even imagine what the Lord has prepared for each one of His beloved people.
Joh 14:3, “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto Myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”
Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

